"A Heart to Heart" in kindergarten and at school

Promoting understanding & integration in the educational environment.

Heart children in kindergarten and at school

A visit for a good heart to heart

IMG 0519


When children grow up with a heart defect and the associated operations and multiple stays in hospital, this not only presents great challenges for heart children, parents and relatives, but also for the kindergarten or school social environment (group or class community).


Likewise, the integration into a class community may not be easy for heart children themselves. After years of fighting for their own health, it is often difficult to socialize with other children of the same age.

The healthy children often have many unanswered questions on many different levels. They are unsure of how to treat a heart child, or do not understand many issues that may not be visibly evident.


For this purpose we offer a so-called "Heart to Heart" lesson in the group or class, in which the causes, consequences and limitations of CHD are explained to the children in an age-appropriate manner. This helps to overcome fear of contact. It is especially important for children with CHD to maintain a sense of normality and not to be excluded from the class community. We encourage people to interact with those affected as naturally as possible.

This gives rise to many different questions for parents and educators:

  • What should be considered when attending kindergarten or school?
  • Can a heart child take part in physical education lessons?
  • My heart child is taking blood-thinning medication, what must be taken into account?
  • What is the "emergency plan" for teachers?
  • As an educator, how do I deal with the heart child's feelings of "being different" in the group and class community?
  • Is a heart child automatically an integration child?

We want to create understanding among other children as well as educators and help to ensure that the heart child is included in the class community.

The aim of this educational work in different institutions such as kindergarten and school is to explain to the educators as well as to fellow kindergarten/school peers, the physical and psychological stress the heart child was/is exposed to in such a situation, in an age-appropriate and competent manner. If required, parent and educator evenings are also offered.


In a playful way
, children get to dress up and experience what happens during a hospital stay, gain insight into various examinations and learn the basics of cardiovascular circulation in a presentation.


In this way we create a better understanding of a child with CHD in the class community.

Herzstunde Raphael Susanne Trixi

"A Heart to Heart" is an initiative of Prof. Mag. Dr. Raphael D. Oberhuber which is carried out in cooperation with "Herzkinder Österreich". Teaching and didactic methods are carried out in scientific consultation with Prof. Mag. Dr. Raphael D. Oberhuber (Clinical & Health Psychologist).

Contact person

Photo gallery

VS Raabs an der Thaya
VS Gallspach
VS Heiligenkreuz am Waasen
VS Raabs an der Thaya2
VS Gallspach1
VS St Georgen Klaus4

"Herzstunde" in Kindergarten & Schule

Verständnis & Integration schaffen im pädagogischen Umfeld!

Herzkind im Kindergarten und in der Schule

Ein Besuch mit einer besonderen Herzstunde

Schulbesuch

Wenn Kinder mit einem Herzfehler und den dazugehörigen Operationen und vielfachen Klinikaufenthalten aufwachsen, stellt dies nicht nur die Herzkinder, Eltern und Angehörige vor große Herausforderungen, sondern mitunter auch das kindergarten- oder schulsoziale Umfeld (Gruppen- oder Klassengemeinschaft).
Ebenso mag das Eingliedern in eine Klassengemeinschaft für die Herzkinder selbst oft nicht leicht sein. Nach jahrelangem Kampf um die eigene Gesundheit gestaltet sich das Zusammensein mit Gleichaltrigen oft schwierig.

Auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen bleiben viele Fragen für die gesunden Kinder ungelöst. Die Kinder wissen oft nicht, wie sie mit dem Herzkind umgehen sollen, verstehen nicht,­ was ­sich­ „unter­ der ­Oberfäche“­ verbirgt.

Wir bieten dazu eine sogenannte „Herzstunde“ in der Gruppe oder Klasse an, in der den Kindern altersgerecht erklärt wird, was die Ursachen, Auswirkungen und Einschränkungen der Herzerkrankung sind.
Somit werden Berührungsängste genommen.
Gerade für herzkranke Kinder ist es wichtig, die Normalität aufrecht zu erhalten und von der Gemeinschaft nicht ausgeschlossen zu werden. Unbefangenerer Umgang mit den Betroffenen wird gefördert.

Daraus entstehen für die Eltern und für die Pädagogen die verschiedensten Fragen:

  • Was muss man beim Kindergarten- oder Schulbesuch beachten?
  • Kann ein Herzkind beim Turnunterricht mitmachen?
  • Das Herzkind nimmt ein blutverdünnendes Medikament, worauf ist hier zu achten?
  • Was ist ein „Notfallplan“ für die Pädagogen?
  • Wie gehe ich als Pädagoge mit dem „Anderssein“ in der Gruppen- und Klassengemeinschaft um?
  • Ist ein Herzkind automatisch ein Integrationskind?

Wir möchten dadurch sowohl bei anderen Kindern als auch bei Pädagogen Verständnis schaffen und mithelfen, dass das Herzkind in die Gemeinschaft inkludiert wird.

Das Ziel dieser Aufklärungsarbeit in unterschiedlichen Einrichtungen wie Kindergarten und Schule ist es, den Pädagogen sowie den Kindergarten-/Schulkollegen auf altersgerechte und kompetente Weise zu erklären, welchen körperlichen und seelischen Belastungen das Herzkind in so einer Situation ausgesetzt war/ist. Bei Bedarf werden auch Eltern- und Pädagogen-Abende angeboten!
Auf spielerische Weise werden die Kinder verkleidet und erleben in einer Präsentation den Ablauf eines Krankenhausaufenthaltes, bekommen einen Einblick in diverse Untersuchungen und lernen die Grundlagen des Herzkreislaufes.
Dadurch schaffen wir ein besseres Verständnis für ein herzkrankes Kind in der Gemeinschaft.

0 Teamfoto Herzstunde

Die "Herzstunde" ist eine Initiative von Prof. Mag. Dr. Raphael D. Oberhuber die in Zusammenarbeit mit "Herzkinder Österreich" durchgeführt wird. Pädagogische und didaktische Methoden finden in wissenschaftlicher Absprache mit Prof. Mag. Dr. Raphael D. Oberhuber (Klinischer- & Gesundheitspsychologe) statt.

Ansprechpartner

Fotogalerie

VS Raabs an der Thaya
VS Gallspach
VS Heiligenkreuz am Waasen
VS Raabs an der Thaya2
VS Gallspach1
VS St Georgen Klaus4